Millie Dress

Oh heyyyyyyy!

dsc_0888I love sewing for my sweet Bunny and I know I should enjoy it now while she will actually wear it.  While there are so many cute patterns out there for fancy dresses she REALLY needed some play clothes that she could move in.  I figured if you are gonna sew kids clothes you need to learn to sew knits so I went for it.

I found THIS free pattern from Nicky over at Mix It Make It.  It is similar to a dress I have on my inspiration board for Bunny and figured it would be a great way to start sewing with knits.  I was too impatient to order fabric so I picked up THIS interlock knit from Joann’s.

I actually didn’t know that knits don’t fray which, was really nice.  Since I don’t have a serger and the edges of fabric would be exposed I used my rotary cutter to cut as much as possible.  Sewing was not nearly as bad as I was expecting and using a double needle wasn’t hard at all.  My machine only tried to eat my fabric twice. 🙂

I wish I could impart some enlightenment on you but I think this may have been beginners luck.  There are two things I did pick up though.

  1. Cut/sew with stretch along the circumference. I read this after I cut my fabric.  Luckily I did this by accident for all pieces except the skirt.
  2. Stay tape.  I used this on the hem, cuffs and collar.  I think it really helped the edges stay sharp and kept my machine from eating the fabric.

This pattern starts at size 3 and Bunny is normally a size 2.  I didn’t alter so its a little big but not much.  I will be making this one again but I think next time I will just make the sleeves a little shorter.

dsc_0904bunny3

Leave a comment