Stay stitch, Under stitch, Edge stitch

True fact:  Since I was pregnant I have had the memory of a goldfish.  I read once that during pregnancy you lose 10 IQ points.  In my experience they don’t come back but, I suppose it is a small price to pay for all the sweetness that follows.
With that said, in an attempt to remember the things that I have already googled 500 times I am writing them down.  At the very least next time I forget I will know where to find the info. 🙂

BTW, The Ogden Cami by True Bias included all of these techniques and was a great way to practice.


Stay stitching – Stitching placed along a bias or curved seam to prevent the fabric of a garment from stretching while the garment is being made.  This is completed after cutting and prior to sewing any seams.

Under stitching – Stitching on the lining, close to the seam line and through the seam allowance, to help keep lining on the inside of the garment.

Edge stitching –  Stitching on the edge of a garment, normally 1/8″ (3mm) or less.  Helps achieve a sharper edge with multiple layers of fabric.

Topstitch – Stitching on the edge of a garment, normally 1/4″(6mm).  Also, hold layers together like edge stitch but can be used decoratively.  Topstitching is meant to be seen from the outside of the garment.

understitch

Leave a comment