First project of 2017

I have to admit I never had any desire to sew lingerie.  It seemed so intimidating.  I figured the materials were way over my head and there are so many pretty options ready to wear.

That all changed when I found Maddie Flanagan’s Instagram site.  YOU GUYS!  It’s amazing.  She looks like a tiny, adorable little thing and then she drops in with stunning and sexy lingerie.   You must check it out if you haven’t already found her.

Anyway, I bought this pattern right before christmas and put off starting since I had never sewn lace, power net, or lingerie for that matter.  fullsizerender-copy

When I finally started, the hardest part for me was sourcing the materials without spending more than an off the rack version would have cost me.  I found a ton of shops with great lace but the shipping was CRAZY.  I finally decided on some pretty white/blush 7.5″ stretch lace from BravoBella.  Since this was my first piece of lingerie  I didn’t want to buy a ton of materials.  Just in case it was a disaster.  Next time I will be ordering some extra supplies to have on hand.

This bra came together so easily.  The instructions in the simplicity pattern were great but the tutorials on Maddie’s site were awesome to have.  Sewing on the lace was much easier than I had imagined.  The only issue I had was that when sewing the bottom band the lace slipped a little.  I read that you can use tissue paper to keep it from moving or getting sucked in the feed dogs.  I will definitely be trying that on the next bra I make.  From the outside you can’t even tell.

The only modification I have for next time is that I would add an inch to the halter strap.  I think that was a common review.  It fits fine but, would be a little more comfortable with a tiny bit of wiggle room.

fullsizerender

Pattern: Simplicity 8228 A
FabricBravoBella

Leave a comment